School of Humanities & Social Sciences

School of Humanities & Social Sciences

Prof. Margaret K. Mwenje

A word from the Dean, Prof. Margaret K. Mwenje

Social Science is a major category of the academic discipline concerned with society and the relationships among individuals in a society. The SHSS at Pan Africa Christian University houses the department of Psychology, Communication, Languages & Linguistics, and Community Development.

The school runs academic programs from certificate to PhD. All our undergraduate and graduate programs are approved by the Commission for University Education (CUE) in Kenya.

The school also hosts unique graduate programs in Marriage and Family Therapy (MFT) under the Department of Psychology that have been accredited and commended by CUE and are also accredited by the International Family Therapy Association (IFTA) in the United States of America.

State of the art counseling clinical labs and communication studios are a hallmark of the SHSS. The SHSS aims to expand the horizon of knowledge through teaching and research that creates awareness and enhances skills related to humanities and social sciences.

The School of Humanities & Social Sciences has the following departments:

Department of Psychology

  1. PhD in Marriage & Family Therapy
  2. Master of Arts in Marriage & Family Therapy
  3. Master of Arts in Counselling Psychology
  4. Bachelor of Arts in Counselling Psychology
  5. Diploma in Counselling Psychology
  6. Certificate in Counselling Psychology

Department of Communication, Languages, & Linguistics 

  1. Bachelor of Arts in Communication
  2. Diploma in Communication

Department of Community Development

  1. Master of Arts in Community Development & Social Protection
  2. Bachelor of Arts in Community Development
  3. Bachelor of Arts in Criminology & Security Leadership
  4. Diploma in Community Development & Social Work